Business Stories

Almost all countries of the UN security Council opposed US sanctions against Iran

Almost all UN security Council member countries have opposed US sanctions against Iran. This is reported by Interfax with reference to the headquarters of the world organization.

Of the 15 members of the security Council, 13 opposed the launch of the mechanism initiated by the United States to restore sanctions against Iran. Among those who did not support the US, including Washington’s allies: great Britain, France, Germany and Belgium.

Britain, France and Germany refused to support US plans to restore sanctions against Iran. According to the joint statement of the countries, such steps contradict their efforts in the framework of the Joint comprehensive plan of action for the settlement of the Iranian nuclear program (JCPOA).

Resolution 2231, which was adopted in 2015, contains a mechanism for automatically resuming UN sanctions against Iran if the country does not comply with its obligations under the JCPOA.

The US has repeatedly demanded an extension of the ban on arms deliveries to Iran, which expires on October 18, 2020, in accordance with the terms of the so-called Tehran nuclear deal with the US, Russia, China, Britain, France and Germany. At the same time, in 2018, the American side announced its withdrawal from this agreement and threatened Iran with additional sanctions.